Mar 21

RTD6-BRAZIL Announced


RTD6: 6th International Conference on Responsible Tourism in Destinations – June 18-20, 2012 Sao Paulo, Brazil

How much progress has been made in achieving sustainable tourism since 1992?

Register your interest to speak or attend at

Early bird registration fee: USD 150 fee before end of March


Planned as a side event to Rio +20, RTD6 provides a platform for intergovernmental organisations, governments, donors, industry, NGOs and academics to discuss the progress which has been made in making tourism more sustainable.

The Earth Summit in 1992 was focused on Environment and Development, the language is moving on with the adoption of Green Growth, but the challenge has not changed. The Sao Paulo Conference will focus on the themes of environment and development and provide an opportunity to debate progress since 1992 in making tourism more environmentally sustainable and to assess its contribution to development.

The 6th International Conference on Responsible Tourism in Destinations is being co-chaired by Prof. Dr. Harold Goodwin, of Leeds Metropolitan University and the ICRT , and Prof Dr Eduardo Sanovicz, University of Sao Paulo and former president of Embratur.

Invitation in English  and Spanish


Keynote presentation:

Learning from 20 years of sustainable tourism rhetoric and practice, by Eugenio Yunis, Executive Vice President of FEDETUR Chile, and former Director of Sustainable tourism development at the World Tourism Organization (1997-2007) and Director General of the Work Programme at the World Tourism Organization (2007-2010).

Early confirmed speakers include:

Mariana Aldrigui – GTTP, Brazil; Dr. Susanne Becken, Griffith University, Australia; Beth Beloff, BRIDGES to Sustainability Institute and Beyond the Divide, US; Flávia Costa, Serviço Social do Comércio, Brazil, Dr. Helena Costa, University of Brasília, Brazil; Dr. Xavier Font, Leeds Metropolitan University, UK; Alexandre Garrido, Sexante, Brazil; Dr. Sonya Graci, Ryerson University, Canada; Oliver Hillel, Convention on Biological Diversity, Canada; Wael Al Lawati, Omran, Oman; Matthias Leisinger, Kuoni, Switzerland; Klaus Lengefeld, GIZ, Germany; Geoffrey Lipman,, UK; Anne-Maria Mäkelä, Seinäjoki University of Applied Sciences, Finland; Roberto Mourão, EcoBrasil; Dr. Vikneswaran Nair, Taylor’s University, Malaysia; Dr. Laszlo Puczko, Xellum, Hungary; Doris Ruschmann, Universidade do Vale do Itajaí, Brazil; Ronald Sanabria, Rainforest Alliance, Costa Rica; Deirdre Shurland, United Nations Environment Programme, France; Dr. Murray Simpson, Caribsave and Oxford University, Dr. Marcelo Vilela de Almeida, Universidade de São Paulo, Brazil.


Permanent link to this article: